Mark Making 

In today’s core rotation workshop we experimented with different techniques in order to create a series of portraits. 

Firstly, we did  5 minute sketches of a person sitting in front of us. Using ink as well as different objects, each making a different mark, we created a series of mono prints. 

I really enjoyed the first part of the workshop as it allowed us to do a bit of life drawing. It was a very quick and fun exercise to see how much we can do in 5 minutes. However, I wouldn’t say that mono printing was something I enjoyed, mostly because I’ve done it countless times before and I know it’s not a technique I’d particularly include in my work. I’m a person that likes their work neat and tidy, and mono printing is the complete opposite. 

Leave a Reply

